Chronology / Publication Date

 Daniel Defoe, Moll Flanders (1722)

 Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (1813)

 Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre (1847)

 Virginia Woolf, Mrs. Dalloway (1925)

 Jean Rhys, Wide Sargasso Sea (1966)

 Ian McEwan, Atonement (2001)

 Toni Morrison, A Mercy (2008)

Colm Tóibín, Brooklyn (2009)

Jo Baker, Longbourn (2013)

Chronology / Narrative Time and Setting

          Moll Flanders

 Moll is born in 1614; the narrated story concludes in 1683; Set in England and the Colonial America

  A Mercy

 1680s and 1690s; Europe and Colonial Americas          

            Pride and Prejudice

Early 19th Century; England


Early 19th Century; England

Wide Sargasso Sea

  1830s and 1840s; Jamaica and England

Jane Eyre

Mid-Nineteenth Century; England

Mrs. Dalloway

 Post World War I; England


            1930s, 1940s, present day; England


             1950s; Ireland and the United States